In Spanish we divide words into syllables so that we can put emphasis on one or another part of the word. Knowing how to divide a word into its corresponding syllables is useful for pronunciation purposes but also for writing purposes in case you need to break up a word at the end of the line. There are certain rules about word division in Spanish. Here they are:

· You cannot separate the following letters CH, LL, RR:

mu-cho si-lla tie-rra

· A consonant between two vowels is grouped together with the second vowel:

di-vi-sa te-lé-fo-no ca-ma

· If there are two consonants together between two vowels, the first consonant is grouped together with the preceding vowel and the second consonant with the following vowel, except in the case of groups whose second element is L or R (only in combination with the following letters: C, D, F, G, P, T*) which are not separated:*T (TL only appears in Mexican Spanish but TR is common)

in-mo-ral pre-fe-ri-ble gra-ni-to

· You do not separate vowel groups which form diphthongs or triphthongs. A diphthong is the union of two vowels forming one syllable. The possible combinations of vowels in Spanish diphthongs is "strong-weak", "weak-strong" or "weak-weak". Strong vowels are A, E, O. Weak vowels are I, U. In Spanish there are 13 possible diphthongs.:

AI: aire IE: tiene
AU: aula IO: colegio
EI: peine UA: agua
EU: Europa UE: aeropuerto
OI: boina UO: cuota
IA: historia IU: ciudad
UI: cuidado  

A triphthong is the union of three vowels (weak-strong-weak) combined in one syllable:

Buey Paraguay

© Language Centre, The University of Hong Kong. All Rights Reserved
This page may be reproduced for non-profit educational purposes, provided this copyright notice appears at the beginning and/or the end.
© Language Centre, The University of Hong Kong.Reservados todos los derechos
Se puede reproducir esta página para fines educativos sin ánimo de lucro siempre que figure este mensaje de copyright al principio y/o al final del documento.